Protege Canine Rescue

A small rescue group based in Eastern Iowa and focusing on Aussies and performance dogs.

Belle, Female Black-Bi Aussie, 5 years

Belle5Hi my name is Belle (#0274) and I’m a 5 year old black-bi Aussie with minimal white. I weigh approximately 47 pounds. I was turned into the rescue because my family was no longer able to take care of me.

When I first came into the rescue I was living at a doggy daycare. I really enjoyed being there getting to interact with a variety of other dogs and the staff that works there. After staying at doggy daycare for a while they figured that I should get used to a regular home routine and that is what I’m currently doing.

I’m a really easy-going girl. My foster mom sometimes says that I’m kind of a Velcro dog. I don’t know what she means by that however I do know that I like to be near her or at least keep her in my sight. When given the chance I love to hop up on the sofa and snuggle and have been told that I’m a good little furnace. At night I sleep on the floor or on the dog bed.

I’m pretty low-maintenance when it comes to entertainment. I love to play fetch. It is a lot of fun playing fetch out in the

Belle6

snow where I can root my nose around in the snow. I am not interested in other toys, bones or tugs. My foster brother, who is an Aussie too, will play with a toy that squeaks. I just think he looks silly standing there going squeak, squeak, squeak with a toy.
Belle1I am not a fan of riding in the car at all. I don’t know what all the hype is about it. I tend to drool quite a bit when riding in the car. My foster mom tries to reassure me that everything is ok and pets me but I just don’t believe her. My foster brother must be senile or just doesn’t know any better because he seems to enjoy riding in the car. Once we arrive at our destination, I am a happy girl. It is fun going shopping in dog-friendly stores getting to sniff all the neat things and see people. My foster mom laughs at me because when I see people in the store I stop and wait for them to come over to pet and meet me. Honestly, why wouldn’t people want to meet me?

My foster mom says that I’m quite a Houdini. I really don’t know what that means, however I will say that I am not a fan of being in a crate at all. I go into the crate very nicely before my foster mom goes to work but a couple of times when she got home I was not in the crate. I was just standing at the door waiting for her with a big smile on my face. She is now letting me have the run of the house with the resident dog during the day and she says that she’s impressed that I’m being such a good girl.

I am up to date on my vaccinations and am on a heartworm and flea preventative. I am currently living near Iowa City. If you might be interested in learning more about this me, please email us at info@protegerescue.org. While they welcome your questions about me, all adopters are required to complete a Protege Adoption Application before being considered to adopt me; my adoption fee is $250. (listed 03/11/13)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 11, 2013 by .

Navigation

